Two for One Review! Stacey Jay and Stephanie Perkins Review

Hey there! It’s been a while!

Life has been crazy! But I’m back and ready to review, talk about, and read some books!

I’m going to be a good blogger and write some posts in advanced because in July I am getting MARRIED!

So, if I promise you a post and I’m late please have mercy on me guys!

Anyway, today I wanna finish reviewing the last of my books from the April Read-a-thon and talk about a genre of books that I have really fallen in love with.

The genre that I have recently begun to read and explore is Contemporary!

Contemporary is defined by realistic fiction taking place post World War II. YA Contemporary is a little different as I would say it’s realistic fiction with major themes focusing on relationships, coming of age, and identity in young adults.

I’ve never been fully into this genre, but I’ve discovered two fun books that have really made me reconsider reading Contemporary YA novels.

The Locket by Stacey Jay

Click for goodreads!

Rating: 2.5/5

Looking at the rating for this book you may think that I didn’t really like it, but I did. I’ll tell you right now why I gave it such a ‘low’ rating. Basically, I really enjoyed the book but the writing was very basic and the storyline was a little too over simplified. Sometimes a simple book can be a good book. I like to read a book and the story be straightforward at times.

Anyway, what’s The Locket about?

I don’t like the Goodreads synopsis so I’ll tell you in my own words. Basically, this girl named Katie and her boyfriend break up because she cheated on him. Then, she discovers the locket she found in her grandmother’s house can take her back in time. She thinks this is great because she can right all the mistakes she’s made, but changing the past means a different future.

Basically, Katie has to realize what she really wants in life. THIS STORY INCLUDES A LOVE TRIANGLE! It’s an oblivious love triangle aka Katie is oblivious to the two boys that like her, but it does exist.

I liked this book because it was a quick and fun read. I really liked the characters, but I really felt this book wasn’t long enough. Everything happened just like her time traveling- far too fast. Her problems were fixed too quickly and I felt like I wasn’t given time to really form an opinion over whether I truly liked the main character or not. For the most part she was really air headed and couldn’t recognize when people were lying, in love with her, or being sarcastic.

I was a little confused at times. At the beginning of the story I thought her grandmother was dead, but then she wasn’t. Katie’s hair is compared to a muppet’s. I thought her hair was red and curly but on the cover of the book is a blonde girl. These are little things, but it’s strange.

Anyway,  I still liked it. I didn’t LOVE it, but it was fun.

 

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Click for goodreads!

This book, well, the edition that I borrowed from the library had a SUPER lame cover! Once again, the girl on the cover does not look like the way the main character is described. Then, what’s up with the quarter of a male character on the other side? Weird!

Anyway, what’s this about?

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss? (Goodreads)

Okay, first of all I would like to claim false advertising. This book is not about a girl searching for a french kiss. In fact, she doesn’t even talk about yearning for a french kiss.

What this book is about is friendship, love, cultural assimilation (I know, right?), family, and identity.

What I loved about this book was how FUNNY it was! I never expected to laugh so much, but this book had me rolling! The whole way through I kept thinking that Anna was teenager me. She’s dramatic and over excitable. She’s over teenage problems, but can’t find her way out of them. I love her.

Unexpectedly, I cried. I cried because I could remember feeling the way she felt as she fought with friends, pined after boys, and clashed with her family. This book was very real. I felt it was the most true to a real life situation as it could get while still being entertaining. It was great.

I would definitely recommend this book for the beach or holiday. I’m probably going to go read everything else by Stephanie Perkins because her style was just so easy to read. It was seamless. The characters were the best part, so very real and so very teenage. I feel like such an old person reading this, but I really could remember being a teenager! It was great.

So there you have it, two reviews!

Sorry I’ve been slow lately, guys! If you know of anymore fun and fast Contemporary reads I should check out let me know because I really want to read some more of those this summer!

 

One thought on “Two for One Review! Stacey Jay and Stephanie Perkins Review

Leave a Reply

