A Poem for your Saturday: Love Child

15H

Love Child by Lauren Peacock

Dear Mom and Dad,

I hope I was born from laughter

And happy tears

I hope you drank a little too much

And drowned your fears

I hope he wrote you love poems

And she loved them

I hope you were young and happy

And a tad sappy

I hope you were excited

And very much delighted

By the prospect of a baby girl

You’d bring into this world

I hope you held hands

And made all kinds of plans

I hope you look at me

And it’s the love you shared that you see

Leave a Reply

