April Read-a-thon Day 2!

It’s Day 2 Here in the April Read-A-Thon!

To read about day 1 click here!

So, The Accursed by Joyce Carol Oates is Amazing! The story is wrapped in a cloak of speculative history and beautiful storytelling. I love the way the narrator interjects and pieces together ‘historical documents’ to tell the story. So far the web of characters has thickened the mystery of the piece because everyone has only seen one perspective of what has happened.

I found myself thinking about forgoing sleep in order to keep reading. But, I’ve stopped on page 200/688! That’s right there are six hundred and eighty eight pages to this book!

I thought I’d break up my reading and finish a book during this read-a-thon. Today I intend on completing The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen as seen below!

HZP_share_tempLook how happy I am with my book 🙂

Anyway, I am already 100 pages from the end I am in love with the author’s writing again. Just wonderful! More on that later! For now, I thought I’d complete some of the questionnaire Treesofreverie has put together for us read-a-thon-ers! If you want to see part 1 of my answers click here. This is part 2!

05. Are you from a family of readers?

  • Yes! My brother and I used to have reading races when we were kids. We each picked a book in the Goosebumps series and tried to complete it before the other. My brother is five years older than me so naturally he would win most of the time. Sometimes, I would cheat and just turn the pages when he would turn a page or slightly before.

06. Do many of your friends read?

  • Yes! I would say that a majority of my friends enjoy books and read occasionally.

07. What or who inspired your reading as a child?

  • I can’t pin down one particular person. I just remember everyone around me encouraging my reading and pushing me to continue. Whether family members bought me books or teachers showed interest in what I was reading, every positive experience helped.

08. Are there any books you wish you got to read when you were younger?

  • Not really, I can’t think of anything I wish I had read that I didn’t. I love Madeline, The Berenstain Bears, Goosebumps, Harry Potter, Little House on the Prairie, and The Chronicles of Narnia.

09. What are your favourite genres?

  • Oh man, I love Fantasy, Urban Fantasy, Horror, Thriller, Poetry, Dystopian, Satire, and I feel like there are so many more.

10. What are your favourite books?

  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
  • The Giver by Lois Lowry
  • Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse
  • The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen
  • Needful Things by Stephen King
  • UGH THERE ARE SO MANY MORE, but I’ll stop myself there

11. Do you like to re-read your favourite books?

  • Yes, there are so many things that you come back to and pick up on that you hadn’t before. I find that as I grow older, especially, I can connect differently with a book.

12. Who are your favourite authors?

  • Stephen King
  • C.S. Lewis
  • Sarah Addison Allen
  • Edgar Allan Poe
  • Charles Dickens
  • Emily Dickinson

13. What would you do if you got to meet your favourite author?

  • Probably end up sounding like an idiot. I would definitely try to convey that his/her books were extremely enjoyable to me, encouraged me to write, and brightened up my life in the most boring of times.

I’ll be answering more questions throughout the read-a-thon! Answer these questions in the comments! I’d love to hear what your favorite books are and who your favorite authors are!

One thought on “April Read-a-thon Day 2!

Leave a Reply

