A Do Not Resuscitate and a New Addiction

It’s Monday, where is your book review?

It’s here, I promise! It just looks a little different.

You see, I was going to review Angelology by Danielle Trussoni today.

I was going to power through the book and write a fair, balanced, and entertaining book review.

Then I died.

Obviously, I didn’t actually die, but I do want to write something great to be published posthumously because that’s just too cool. Am I right?

Anyway, I had to slap a ‘DNR’ or Do Not Resuscitate order on Angelology.

I hate not finishing books so, I usually set the book aside and end up coming back to it.

However, this book has started a pattern that I can see continuing until the end of the novel and even into the other books in the series. This pattern has disrupted my reading, slowed my progress through the story, made the story unenjoyable, and has ultimately ended in my not finishing the novel.

The pattern goes as follows: exposition -> build suspense-> climactic scene| INFORMATION DUMP | end climactic scene quickly (aka abruptly) -> exposition OR more info dump (usually more info)

Angelology really disappointed me because the plot was something I’d never heard of before. I was super interested in it and immediately the characters grabbed me. I don’t want to spend much time on this so here’s the link to the synopsis on Goodreads.

What I mean by this info dumping is this: (not exaggerating) 50+ pages of back story/flashback/history would interrupt climactic scenes or scenes where the main character has made an important discovery. In a roughly 450 page book you really don’t have that much room to keep giving large flashbacks and continue the current plot line. It was sort of like when the villain of an action movie gives his/her lengthy speech of how or why the hero is going to die and you’re sitting there in your seat throwing popcorn at the screen screaming ‘GET ON WITH IT!’ Yeah, that was me. These large sections tempted me to skip ahead or stop reading altogether. Eventually, I succumbed to both. After skipping ahead didn’t even satisfy me I gave up.

Sad. I really did want to love this book. It truly is expertly written. The characters were so good and had me really interested. The plot was promising, but I couldn’t hack it through the mountain climb that was the middle portion of this novel. It knocked me out.

Second Book Review!

That’s right this is a two for one!

A New Addiction:

Saga Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughn, Illustrator: Fiona Staples

This story is a graphic novel.

The reason it is my new addiction: It is so funny/beautiful/awesome/interesting. Also, I almost purposefully don’t get into graphic novels because they cost as much as a novel, are a fourth of the size, take me a quarter of the time to read, and a million volumes are published quickly and I JUST HAVE TO HAVE THEM ALL!

Saga is about: (Goodreads synopsis)

When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe.

That’s it, but there is also so much more!

We’re talking about a guy that looks like a ram has a baby with a woman with insect-like wings. There are a million different other species and everyone wants them dead! There are several stories going on that I predict are going to come together with a BANG at some point and I am so ready to be taken along on that ride.

The art is beautiful. Each page is in color and so very vibrant. Staples really understood that this setting is loud and so very different from our own. She made everything really pop. I also loved her attention to detail. Some characters don’t have conventional faces so she makes them portray their emotions through stance, posing, and through what she chooses to show the reader.

The story is rapid fire not only with action, but drama, as well.

The two main characters: Marko and Alana, interact like a real couple. They laugh, they yell, they make out, and they yell some more. They might even die sometimes. But they are so much fun to get to know.

Also, I won’t give anything away but, the narrator of the story is an interesting choice as well as very touching to the story. I can’t wait to see how that choice plays out through the rest of the story.

Reader Beware: Saga is very GRAPHIC in nudity and sex, language and violence. This is not for your little brother/sister who loves the Spider-man comics in the newspaper.

The fast pace gives you just enough to leave you ravenous for more of the story. I almost felt it was a little too shallow in some places, but consider Volume 1 your exposition. All the main characters have been introduced and the main stage has been set. Now, let the games begin!

I can’t wait to read more. I hope you check it out if you like or want to get into Graphic Novels. (Why am I capitalizing Graphic Novels? I don’t know! It just feels right!)

I recommend Saga if you like Star Wars or Space Operas in general.

Check out Saga here.

Check out Brian K Vaughn and Fiona Staples as well.

Thanks for reading! Stay tuned for Wednesday where I will be talking about a Read-a-thon I’ll be taking part in!

Here’s something for the comments: Do you/Have you read any Graphic Novels? Do you consider Graphic Novels the same as reading a book? Why or why not?

Happy Monday!

5 thoughts on “A Do Not Resuscitate and a New Addiction

  1. I’ve seen Angelology floating around at Barnes & Noble, usually in the bargain stacks, and now I can see why. I thought of picking it up at the library for sheer curiosity’s sake, but I think I’ll skip it after reading your review. It sounds like the author and her editors didn’t focus enough on revising the organization and exposition of its key scenes.

    Wizard’s Rule #12: don’t teach history in the middle of an epic battle, or in this case climactic scenes, if you want your troops to stay alive.

    Pity, I love alternate realities when it comes to mythical creatures like angels. 😦

  2. I have to remember to check out Saga again! I finally snatched it up after eyeing it for months, but then I was unable to get through it thanks to classes and book burnout. I made it 1/4 of the way through, though? It looks so good, and I need to finish it!

Leave a Reply

