For the Love of the Library

For the love of the library!

Look, Britney Reads Harry Potter! It’s cool!

As I have graduated from poor college student to poor twenty-something I have rediscovered the public library.

Most of the books that you have read me review on this blog have either been a NetGalley, borrowed from a friend, bought with a gift card, or borrowed from the library.

I think the library is easily forgotten by a lot of people, especially non-readers, but it’s a wonderful place.

I mean, we all love FREE things right? Free is about the most beautiful word in the English language, right?

So why is the library so forgotten? A friend of mine just discovered you can actually rent movies from the library. Yeah, movies! I also know you can get music and audiobooks. Yes, it’s not the same as owning, but it’s pretty darn good if you just want the experience of reading, listening, and watching something you’ve been meaning to get to for a while.

The library was a big deal when I was a kid though. Let’s reminisce shall we?

I almost want to say that only 90’s kids will understand or identify with this post. But, I guess people before the nineties would understand as well. I don’t know if libraries do these sorts of things anymore.

My favorite memories of the Library:

Library Read-a-thons: Not only did the public library do read-a-thons, but my school library did them as well. Fun fact: my brother and I got in trouble at the school library once because the Librarian said we read too many books…yes, we read too many books. We were terrible children, really.

Library give-a-ways: Yes, our Library let kids keep a book from a bin of older books. These books were probably less than desirable and they weren’t New York Bestsellers but occasionally I could snag a good condition Berenstain Bears or Goosebumps.

Bookmarks: I don’t know about your library, but my library always kept a dispenser of bookmarks across the front desk and you can bet your bottom dollar I was a cool cat as I swept passed that front desk and got myself one of each one.

Scholastic Book Fairs: Need I say more? Lisa Frank folders, funny erasers, Kitty or Puppy posters, ALL the books!

Graduating from Children’s Fiction to Young Adult Lit: This meant I no longer went for the flower speckled walls or waved to Puff the Magic dragon, but walked in like I owned the place into the bean bag strewn Young Adult Section aaaaw-yeah. I was cool.

Figuring out the Dewey Decimal System: Having fun isn’t hard when you’ve got a library card!

Celebrities telling me to Read: Does anyone else remember the posters with celebrities on them that said ‘Read’? (I found out they still make these, YES!) Reading is cool!

Overall, I feel like the library is a good friend. I want to borrow a book? They never say no, well, unless I have a balance. Then I have to find a nickel somewhere in my bag.

If you loved the library, let me know a favorite memory of yours.

Hug a librarian, or don’t that might be awkward.

4 thoughts on “For the Love of the Library

  1. I don’t know what I would do without my local library! I cannot afford to buy all the books I want to read and many times I want to try out a book before committing to owning it. I’ve also discovered that a lot of libraries also have a ebook collection that you can check out, which is great as a college student. I can borrow books from the comfort of my room and I don’t have to worry about late fees. Plus my nook is so much more convenient to carry around! Thanks for this wonderful post!

  2. Our local library did too when I was growing up! They just moved ours, Hartford,AL to the old middle school. Built in late 1800s/early 1900s. I love going in there. I have been rereading The Lord of the Rings books and don’t have to wait to buy them! Haha

    Props for giving the libraries a shout out!!

  3. When I was little, we didn’t have much money, the library was one of the best places to go. My mum would takes us round the library everyday after school and it evokes such great, happy memories.

    A brilliant post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

