Gone Camping

IMG_20140318_101923Fun Fact: I write important, or difficult to write scenes, long hand! That’s my handwriting!

 

I am announcing now that I am participating in National Novel Writing Month April 2014.

That’s right! It’s day 2 and I’ve written give or take 2000 words toward a 50,000 word goal.

If you haven’t heard of NaNoWriMo, let me explain what exactly it is in my own words.

NaNoWriMo is a way to kick your own butt into gear.

Written the outline to a novel and it’s been sitting for months untouched?

Been telling people that you’re writing a novel, but you’ve really just written a paragraph, one scene, or even just the title?

NaNoWriMo is your chance to dig in and get writing.

The overall goal is to write 50,000 words by the end of the month. Why 50,000? That number roughly translates to about 200 pages which is the estimated average novel length. You can adjust your own goals to be bigger or shorter.

That’s the beauty of NaNoWriMo. You can adjust your goals according to what you need. For instance, the goal is to write about 1600 words per day to get to 50,000 by the end of the month. But, I know that I will get nothing done on weekends. I do not want to have to worry about getting home to be that lonely writer at my desk hacking away. So I’m amended to about 2000-3000 words a day. That also is set so I can kick my habit of stopping after 1000 words.

NaNoWriMo also provides a community that you can be as involved in as you would like. I do not take part in any official activities (mainly because my town is so small there aren’t any leaders that want to form communities here). But you can interact online as well. I like checking in with the progress of friends because I am insanely competitive and knowing someone else might reach their goals makes me want to write more, faster, so I can ‘win’.

Everyone is a winner at the end of NaNoWriMo, though, because at the end of it all you have at least made progress toward your novel whether you reach the goal or not.

So, why I am informing you all about this?

Accountability. I’ll post my progress as I go- a word count. Maybe I might even give you a synopsis of the plot I have in mind, but part of me feels like that might jinx it. That possibility frightens me.

And I also wanted to see who else will be participating this month! If you are, you should follow me on twitter @bittenanwritten

I’m really excited because this is my first time really seriously committing myself to this goal. Like I said, I don’t take advantage of the community aspect so I’m not registered or anything, but feel free to comment here if you are participating. You can also follow me on twitter! Oh and Tumblr! bittenandwritten.tumblr.com

Let’s write!

Learn more about NaNoWriMo here: nanowrimo.org

P.S. The title of this post might be confusing, but NaNoWriMo is often referred to using camping terms. You go to camp to write, any person you choose to team up with is called a roommate, bunk-mate, cabin-mate etc.

5 thoughts on “Gone Camping

  1. Best of luck, Lauren!

    I tried something similar in January (50,000 words in 31 days) so I really feel for you during the month ahead. I managed to reach my goal by the end of the month but I put myself through the wringer both emotionally and physically.

    I’m behind you 100%. You go, girl! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

