What I’m ‘Raven’ About

So, you might have noticed there was no post yesterday.

Better late than never, yeah?

That expression actually annoys the snot out of me. I am overwhelmingly annoyed when people are late to things. Anyway, that’s not what I’m taking about.

If you follow me on Twitter or Tumblr or Facebook or Goodreads then you know that I have been completely wrapped up in a new series of novels that has my heart!

I decided I wouldn’t do a traditional book review for these books because:

1. I couldn’t stop reading long enough to write a review between the first and second books.

2. I was too busy screaming to anyone that would hear about how much I loved these books.

3. I don’t want to be objective about this.

The books I’m talking about are the first two installments of Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle.

Book 1: The Raven Boys

Book 2: The Dream Thieves

What are these books about?

Three rich boys with a ton a money and a ton of time, a not-so rich boy with not a lot of time or money, and a girl with no psychic abilities except the ability to make other psychics stronger band together to find a hidden Welsh King in the back roads of scenic central Virginia. Why? Well, if you find the sleeping Glendower and reawaken him it’s said that he will grant you a wish. Each person has their own reason for awakening Glendower, some for curiosity, others just to believe in something, and a couple to get that one wish that  will change everything.

This story is just as much about growing up, friendship, being a ridiculous teenager, and life as much as it is about adventure and the supernatural.

And can I just say that I was thrilled that the book is set in Virginia? Henrietta, Virginia. And Gansey, one of the main characters, is from Northern Virginia which makes him just like me- a metropolitan transplant in the land of the rural.

What I also love is how each character is so autonomous. This book really does offer characters to relate to. Whether you were/are a rebellious teen, the good kid, the quiet kid, or the slightly rebellious and quirky teen girl you have a friend in this book just waiting for you to say hello. Their stories are captivating and so involved. I can’t say who I love the most, but I think after this latest book it’s a tie between Ronan and Noah. All the characters are just too much fun.

And then there is the quest: adventure, paranormal investigator stuff, puzzles, riddles, murder, race against time, heart-stopping anticipation- The Raven Cycle novels have it all! (Oh and no obnoxious love triangles) (oh and hot cars)

I felt like I was learning quite a bit as I read these books. There are Latin phrases and tidbits about the paranormal. There is even a little bit of Old English History. In the second book there is a character that can recite old English and I wish Stiefvater had put a few lines in there so I could show off my English Major muscles and read it out loud to myself because I can do that, ya know! Yeah, you want me to recite the beginning of The Wife of Bath’s Tale in old English? I can! Isn’t that such a great life skill? Well, according to Stiefvater if I ever go in search of Glendower here in Virginia I’ll have a leg up on the competition. So, thank you English degree!

Did I mention this was a SERIES?

Yes, thank God this isn’t a trilogy. I’m over the number three right now. I feel that commercial publishing has made trilogies ‘hot’ right now and have pushed authors into writing trilogies when their stories could have been told in 1 or 2 novels. And don’t get me started on these novellas that are emerging after the fact. Book number 1.5? What is this nonsense, no, if this is something the story needed then it should have been in the main novels. You can’t change the past J.K. Rowling. I don’t know, that’s just weird to me.

Anyway, I have been in love with these novels and the third book is slated to come out on October 28, 2014. So far there looks like there are going to be 4 books in the series, but I know I could read 8 books with these characters if Stiefvater was so moved to write them.

I’m about to start on The Divergent Trilogy. I’ve heard quite the mixed reviews from my English major friends and friends in general so I’m interest in what I may find. But, I have to say, after these books I may take a break from dystopian novels. It’s my favorite genre, but I feel like EVERYONE is writing (some more successfully than others) about that right now.

I’m also in the market to read a stand-alone novel. Anyone read any singular book that they love lately? I’d love to check it out.

Thanks for reading and do go check out The Raven Cycle!

The Raven Boys (Book 1)

The Dream Thieves (Book 2)

Maggie Stiefvater

 

4 thoughts on “What I’m ‘Raven’ About

Leave a Reply

