A Rootin Tootin Shootin Saturday

That's me!

That’s me!

So, today’s Selfie Saturday certainly comes belated to you!

I apologize.

But, I had the wonderful opportunity to experience something I have never experienced before!

Shooting a gun!

A few friends and I went out to shoot and they gladly showed me the ropes. I got to try my hand at shooting targets with a pistol and a rifle. I even got to shoot skeet which was (in my opinion) the most fun part of the trip.

The reason today’s post is so late is because I was figuring out the wonderful world of video editing! YAY! Ugh, that required patience the likes of which I do not have! But the video is quite fun. First, I want you to know that it’s shaking in the beginning because my nerves were sky high. Second, I want to point out that I didn’t even get close to crying as I had predicted I would. Third, I would like to rate this experience as a 3/5. I liked it. Just like.

I thought that shooting would be much more cathartic than it was. Sorry, boys, but it just doesn’t give me the same rush of endorphins that the swing of a bat, the swish of a net, or slap of a volleyball against my arms provides. Shooting was fun, but I don’t see myself delving into the sport.

Hope your Saturday was as sunny as mine was!

Oh, and warning for anyone listening to it with headphones: there is wind, lots of wind!

7 thoughts on “A Rootin Tootin Shootin Saturday

  1. Glad you tried it and welcome to the world of firearms. You’ll find a lot of great people and fun experiences.

    If shooting at paper targets isn’t your thing; try shooting steel plates, skeet/trap, or any of a dozen other different aspects. I like shooting steel targets because there is the audible feedback and more visual, the plates falling over, the ‘dueling tree’ arms swinging over to your opponents side.

    Thanks for giving firearms a go

    Bob S.
    3 Boxes of BS

  2. Hey B&W great job for your first attempt! Your hand position on the pistol was infinitely better than the other female’s. 🙂

    Now I guarantee the next movie or TV gun fight you watch you may empathize with the combatants’ inability to hit anything at point blank range and I hope you will know just how ludicrous the “shooting overhead blindly from behind cover” maneuver looks but I see it on TV shows all the time.

    Definitely creative fodder.

    • Oh, I’ve grown up around guns. My grandpa defended his farm with them (against coyotes) and my dad would hunt on occasion. Most everything on tv involving guns is wrong haha.

      The kickback is what surprised me most with the pistol. I actually hit the target with the rifle, much easier. Thanks for reading/watching!

Leave a Reply

