Book Review: Cobweb Bride by Vera Nazarian

Let me start off by saying I did not want to like this book.

When I first began reading I thought ‘oh, such lofty language, who writes like this anymore?’ Then, as I lay in bed over Christmas holiday, the wind howling outside my window, I was transported to the magical Silver Court.

Cobweb Bride is the first in a trilogy of books chronicling the hair-raising tale of what happens when Death refuses to take the dead in order to find his bride, his cobweb bride.

What drew me into this book was the various scenes in which the affect of Death’s absence is shown. Through these scenes our main characters are revealed. Men on a battlefield are mortally wounded, but continue to fight. Their bloodshed and loss of limbs has no impact on their vicious battle. The ailing near dead continue to suffer driving families to the end of their wits with hope dangling before them, but no respite for their loved ones. And the most frightening of all of this is a scene when a butcher attempts to butcher a pig on the block. Without Death, what do you think happens to the pig? Uh- yeah, gross.

Nazarian explores how very important death is to the human experience. She tells the story through four characters of different backgrounds to show that Death is the great equalizer.

In order to restore a Kingdom, all of its inhabitants must work together to find this bride of Death. The story is full of magic, humor, and adventure. Although there is no clear protagonist at first, which made following the many different scenes of the story a little difficult to follow, the sensible and oftentimes courageous plain Persephone is the most identifiable and endearing character. She joins with a gang of girls (potential cobweb brides), an assassin, a knight, and a royal lady in order to find Death and ease the pain of the undead.

Not everyone wishes to leave this world, walking corpse or not, and that’s where the fun comes in.

The setting is a fictional kingdom during a kind of alternate history Renaissance period that is located between France, Spain, and Germany. It’s hard to explain, but there’s a map in the front of the book!

Because of the time period, Nazarian’s elevated language and style of writing makes sense. In fact, I began to see it as crucial to the proper story telling of the novel. Once I got passed the fact that even though this is a short book, I can’t fly through it. I found myself indulging in her lengthy descriptions and her very real magical world.

Like I said, this book is the first in a trilogy. I believe that when I have a long weekend I will definitely tackle the second book- Cobweb Empire.

I recommend this book to anyone that enjoys medieval fantasy. It reads much like books along the lines of The Hobbit, The Once and Future King, and Eragon.

I would say, I give this book 3 out of 5 stars (trying out a rating system!) because at times I found myself itching to skip forward to get to some sort of action. As a whole, the book was beautifully written and a fun read.

Did I mention that the ebook version of this title is free? Yeah, Free! Gotta love free books.

Buy it free on your Nook: Here (I don’t know if the book is free on Amazon as well)

Visit the author’s website: Here

Read reviews and submit your own review: Here

Thanks for reading! Remember to Like, Follow, and Share!

One thought on “Book Review: Cobweb Bride by Vera Nazarian

  1. This is a very nice review of this book. I have never read it, but you really capture both the characters and plotline well. I love reviewing works in my own literary blog, so I’m always curious to see what other bloggers are reading. Fun read and great review!

Leave a Reply

